header
May 28

Better Read than Dead have The Nancys as their June book of the month! You can read their reviews below;

BOOK OF THE MONTH

THE NANCYS

I really didn’t want this fun to end. There are no comparisons! This is an original, ticklish, campy romp through contemporary New Zealand. Tippy Chan is eleven. When her mum wins a cruise, Uncle Pike arrives from Sydney with Devon, his fashionista boyfriend in tow. Tippy’s best friend ends up in hospital, and her teacher is murdered. With a shared love of Nancy Drew, Tippy, Pike & Devon form The Nancys (complete with stylish t-shirts designed by Devon) and set out to investigate. But it all gets very real when people they love and admire come under suspicion. Forget long-winded scenic descriptions and say hello to exciting characters, dirty puns, and a fun-filled, Nancy Drew-style mystery. This is gold!

— REVIEWED BY DEAN —

I love me a nutty murder mystery romp. Tippy Chan is our narrator – 11 years old, living in Riverstone, NZ with her mother, and grieving for her father who died earlier in the year. A visit from her Uncle Pike and his new boyfriend Devon provides a welcome distraction, particularly when Tippy’s teacher is murdered and the trio – inspired by Tippy and Pike’s beloved Nancy Drew novels – form The Nancys, determined to reveal the true killer. Sassy dialogue dominates the narrative, which gently builds momentum until, two-thirds of the way through (and very late at night), the story intensifies.I could not put this book down. This is a gleeful crime fiction debut with a satisfying balance of campy warmth and murderous darkness, perfect for fans of authors like Lisa Lutz.

— REVIEWED BY KATE —

R.W.R. McDonald has given Nancy Drew a camp and fabulous makeover! Set in New Zealand, this small town murder mystery is not what you’d expect; modern and rollicking fun (while also having moments of sweet tenderness). While the book revolves around the investigation of the detective trio, The Nancys, which is made up of the young Tippy Chan, her Uncle Pike and his fashion designer boyfriend Devon, at the heart of the story is a lesson about being who you are, no matter how different. Before reading it I honestly didn’t think this was my kind of book, but from the first page in I was utterly charmed by its fresh take on the genre and the gorgeous cast of characters found inside.

— REVIEWED BY LUCY H —

https://www.betterread.com.au/book/the-nancys.do

 

May 26

The Nancys is gripping and glorious, a heart-warming novel for anyone who’s ever felt they were on the outside looking in.

We think so highly of it we made our June Book of the Month! Join author R.W.R. McDonald, in conversation with Bri Lee, to see what all the fuss is about.

Time & Location
Jun 18, 6:30 PM
Upstairs at Better Read Than Dead, 265 King Street, Newtown NSW, Australia

Please follow link below to book, hope to see you there!

https://www.betterreadevents.com/events/the-nancys-r-w-r-mcdonald-with-bri-lee

 

May 17

The Ngaio Marsh Awards, in association with the historic Melbourne Athenaeum Library, invites booklovers to an event featuring three talented storytellers and criminal minds who call Melbourne home.

As crime and thriller writing has evolved from puzzle-like mysteries to novels delving deeply into people and places, it has continued to be the world’s most popular form of storytelling. But what makes the genre so fascinating?

Two fresh new voices in Australasian crime writing, RWR McDonald and JP Pomare, are joined by crime researcher and ‘literary archaeologist’ Lucy Sussex to discuss what draws them to mystery writing, how they craft memorable characters, and the impact of local settings, universal themes, and authors who have gone before.

WHEN: Monday, 3 June 2019
WHERE: Melbourne Athenaeum Library, 188 Collins St, Melbourne
WHEN: 6pm for a 6.15pm panel discussion

Entry: free, but RSVP required
RSVP: library@melbourneathenaeum.org.au

https://www.facebook.com/events/359548944681795

May 15

Looking forward to this year’s Emerging Writers Festival #EWF19. In a session with Toni Jordan on editing moderated by Faber Coordinator Alexa Roberts.

You Can Write, But Can You Edit?

You did it, it’s finished! Your manuscript has a beginning, middle and end, and it’s frankly genius – but is it ready to submit to publishers? Faber Writing Academy alumni and author of The Nancys Rob McDonald explores practical tips for polishing your work ahead of submission with Faber Academy Tutor Toni Jordan, moderated by Faber Coordinator Alexa Roberts.

Sunday 23 June, 12-12.45pm, State Library Victoria, Conference Centre

You Can Write, But Can You Edit?

 

May 10

https://www.readings.com.au/event/book-launch-the-nancys

May 4